New Jersey Cell Phone Penalties Will Be Enhanced on July 1, 2014 NJSA 39:4-97.3
New Jersey Cell Phone Penalties Will Be Enhanced on July 1, 2014 NJSA 39:4-97.3
by sch43yt9824huilb

New Jersey Cell Phone Penalties Will Be Enhanced on July 1, 2014 NJSA 39:4-97.3

Beginning on July 1, 2014, revisions to NJSA 39:4-97.3 will result in enhanced penalties. The penalties include increased fines, possible suspensions for a subsequent offense and mandatory suspension for a third offense. A cell phone ticket will now result in 3 motor vehicle points.

New Fines

Starting a July 1, 2014 a first offense of 39:4-97.3 will result in a $200-400 fine. A second offense will get you $400- $600. A third offense will result in a fine of $600-$800. Since the fines are split between the municipality and state, count on the higher fine.

New Suspensions

Subsequent offenses are now eligible for suspension of driving privileges. Judges are considering the the third offense to require a mandatory 90 day license loss. Many people have already received a first or second cell phone violation. Some people have actually asked for an amendment to that charge to avoid points. Now they will face a suspension if they were caught using a cell phone again since they already have a prior conviction , they will receive a suspension.

Points

A violation of 39:4-97.3 will now result in 3 motor vehicle points. The same as speeding 95 MPH or reckless driving.

 

Note: all fines are mandatory with court appearance.